Web Design & Development
The golden equation of e-commerce web development (and businesses as a whole is): Traffic x Conversion Rate x Average Order Value = Revenue.
These are the 3 levers you have to grow your business. You can:
- Increase the number of people that are coming to your website (Traffic)
- Increase how many of those people purchase (Conversion Rate)
- Increase how much those people spend (Average Order Value)
And the real magic of exponential growth happens when you can begin increasing 2 or 3 of these variables at once.
There are a variety of ways to increase each of these areas, and that’s where we come in — helping you chart the best path forward.
Platforms We Work With:
- Shopify (E-commerce)
- Kajabi (Online Courses)
- WordPress (Blog & Newlsetter)
- WooCommerce (E-commerce)
- Webflow (Variety)
- Wix (Variety)
Our Projects That Included Web Design & Development:
10 Web Design & Development Terms to Know:
- A/B Testing: The discipline of running two marketing experiments at the same time to determine which is more effective for your business. The key with A/B testing is to isolate the variables as much as possible to a single test at a time. For example, you can use software to A/B test an email pop-up by using the exact same written copy and offer, and simply changing the background image to see which form gets more submissions and grows your email list faster. After a pre-determined testing period, you let the better performing image run as the main pop-up, or begin another test.
- Average Order Value: The average dollar amount of every order on your website. If you have 100 orders and make $10,000, then your average order value is $100.
- Call to Action: The clear action you want a visitor to take on your website. In e-commerce, this is typically “Buy Now” or “Shop Now” or “Get Yours Today”. But this can also be “Sign up” or “Download Now”. Whatever the action is that you want your customer to take, it’s vital that the call-to-action is clear and obvious.
- Conversion Rate: The amount of people that complete a specific action on your site. Typically, conversion rate is measured in terms of purchases. If you have 100 visitors and make 3 purchases, then you have a 3% conversion rate. Conversion rate can also refer to form submissions, phone calls to your business, or even people coming in to a retail location. We are often asked “What’s a good conversion rate?” and the answer is the age-old, “it depends.” It depends on your industry, your average order value, and your business as a whole.
- Domain: This is the actual name of your website. For example, Google’s domain is “google.com”. This is a user-friendly way to access the number based IP address where your web property lives on the internet.
- Funnel: In online marketing, we’re trying to take someone who has never heard of you before (a cold audience) to a purchaser (hot audience) in a short amount of time. The typical journey is Awareness > Consideration > Conversion > Loyalty > Advocacy. We want to create the right content for the right platforms, and then deliver that at the right time to your customer within this funnel.
- Hosting: Web hosting services offer the backend services needed to create and maintain a website and make it available on the internet. Sometimes hosting is combined with the CMS platform, like in Shopify’s case, and sometimes hosting is separate, like with WordPress, meaning you can have a variety of hosting platforms (SiteGround, BlueHost, WP Engine) serving as your WordPress host.
- Plugins / Integrations: Most web platforms come with a variety of plugins, apps, and integrations that it can work with. Shopify uses apps. WordPress uses plugins. At the end of the day, they’re functionally the same thing – extra widgets that connect to your site to provide features above and beyond the base website. This might be customer reviews, a sizing chart, filtering systems, checkout shipping, and more.
- Traffic: The number of visitors coming to your website. Visitors can come through organic search (search engines like Google), paid advertising, social media, referral and affiliate links, and so much more. Finding the right, qualified traffic to drive to your website is key in growing a healthy e-commerce business.